Creature from the Black Lagoon

I’m a huge fan of older, “B” movies.

For me, it all started with Sammy Terry.  If you’re from Central Indiana, and anywhere near my age, you remember Sammy Terry.

For those not in the know, he was local businessman  (and musician) Bob Carter, who, dressed as a ghoul,   hosted Nightmare Theater on WTTV  (Channel 4) in Indianapolis.

Nightmare theater not only played classic horror movies, such as Frankenstein and Dracula (the original versions), but also some of the wonderful giant bug movies from the 50’s, like “Them” and “Tarantula” and “The Deadly Mantis”.

One that has always stuck with me is “Creature from the Black Lagoon”.  Although originally released as a B movie, it quickly became so much more.  Great photography, suspense, and wonderful use of light and shadows in black and white, it’s a great film that has held up far better than other movies of the era.

One reason I love this movies so much is that it doesn’t rely on blood and gore to scare you.  It’s all plot, suspense, and suggestions. And, it’s still one seriously scary movie. And, the soundtrack is legend.

I’ll leave you with one of my favorite scenes from the movie.  Have you seen it?

 

3 thoughts on “Creature from the Black Lagoon

      • My next door friend had this really cool one called “The Forgotten Prisoner.” I don’t recall it being from a specific movie, but it was cool nonetheless. It was just a skeleton, in tattered clothes, chained to this brick wall. How is it I remember a model from 40 years ago, but not what I had for lunch last week?

        Like

Leave a Reply

