Run through the jungle 5k, May, 2016

I did a 5k yesterday.  That might not be a big deal to some people, but it’s a pretty big deal to me.

Some of you  may know, many likely do not know, that from a bad accident years ago, my left leg, ankle, and foot is held together by pins, screws, and plates.  Walking is pretty darn painful for me, and that’s why I avoid it as much as I can.  Riding a bicycle isn’t as much of an issue because the motion is different, and I really enjoy biking, but this 5k supported one of our pet projects, the Exotic Feline Rescue Center in Center Point, Indiana, home to a couple hundred lions, tigers, panthers, and more.

We drove over (about 90 minutes from home) in a steady rain, and I wasn’t looking forward to it at all.  Then when we got there, we found out that the parking area is about 1/2 mile from the event, so I was going to be adding another mile of walking to a 5K I already wasn’t sure I’d be able to do or not.

But, as the start time drew near, the skies cleared, and off we went.

My wife walks a LOT, so we decided we’d both go at our own pace.  I didn’t want to slow her down,  so I lost track of her as we crossed the start line.  I started near the end of the pack because I didn’t want to get in the way of faster walkers and runners.

I finished in about 1.5 hours.  I’ve not seen the final results, but I believe I finished dead last out of about 500 walkers.

And that’s OK with me.  I finished.  I’m glad I did it, but, in the future, I think I’ll stick to my bike. 🙂

Here are a few photos of the event.

A couple in the starting area.

 

A couple from the starting line.

 

And the finish line, as I was approaching it.  I’ve never been so happy to see anything in my life!

 

Finish LIne

Leave a Reply

