Hidden Corners of Indiana: the Mitchell Opera House, Mitchell, Indiana

outside

 

As an entertainer, I get to play a lot of very cool places.  (And, honestly, a few where I’ve played behind chicken wire and wondered if I’d escape with my life).  This past weekend, I had a chance to play music and do stand up at the Mitchell Opera House in Mitchell, Indiana.

The Mitchell Opera house is a fully restored, turn of the century opera house, and, let me tell you, it is simply amazing.

Mitchell, Indiana was at the intersection of the Monon and B&O railroads, and, as such, was a thriving community.  Vaudeville was king, and motion pictures were just coming on the scene when the Opera house was constructed in 1906.

Over the years, it’s hosted countless shows, US Presidents, conventions, and much, much more.  After WWII it became a town hall, fire station, and then started falling into disrepair.

To make a long story short, in 2014, Hoosier Uplands acquired the building and started reconstruction/restoration of it.  Let me tell you, it is simply amazing.  I can’t tell you how much I love this building.  Everything about it is perfect.  Not a bad seat in the house, the stage is wonderful, and the sound in that room is simply incredible.  If you find yourself down in Mitchell, I highly recommend a visit!  If you want to read more about them, check out http://www.mitchelloperahouse.com



 

 

 

 

One thought on “Hidden Corners of Indiana: the Mitchell Opera House, Mitchell, Indiana

  1. Nice post, Rick. I’ve been to Mitchell (also the home town of astronaut Gus Grissom, as I’m sure you know) many times, mostly on my way to Spring Mill SP, though. I didn’t know about this place.

    Like

Leave a Reply

