I SELDOM get intimidated, but…

img_20170323_172454_989.jpg

 

I’ve been fortunate enough to experience a lot of things in my life.  I’ve white water rafted, hiked wilderness, flown airplanes,  driven Route 66, traveled the USA, lived for a bit in Europe, and much more.

But, at 60 years old, last night I did something I’d never done in my life.  I stepped into a gym.  For the very first time.

I seldom get intimidated, but I must admit.  I pulled up into the parking lot, and had to set and gather my thoughts for a few minutes.  I found myself making up excuses to not go in…I’m too old, I’m too fat, I don’t have time, the list goes on and on.

But, I took a deep breath, and went inside, fully expecting to see a room full of jocks working out.

Instead, I saw a group of people, some much younger than myself, and, much to my surprise, some much older.  Tall people, short people, of all shapes and sizes.  Some were on a treadmill, some on a bike, some stretching, and, much to my surprise, all were having a good time.

I chose Planet Fitness, at first, solely for convenience…it’s close enough to home that I can ride my bike up there.  It just so happens their slogan is they’re a “no judgement zone” and that was evident from the minute I walked through the door.  From the folks at the counter to Brandon, my trainer, they immediately put me at ease.  I spent an hour or so with him, and now have a program to get me back on the track to health.

All in all, it was a very positive experience.  It feels good to be taking some positive steps for my own good!

2 thoughts on “I SELDOM get intimidated, but…

Leave a Reply

