My first workout in 60 years

img_20170327_072939188.jpg

That’s true.  It’s my first real workout in 60 years.

That may be a bit of a misnomer.  I’ve done a lot of cycling, hiking, and other things in my 60 years on this spinning ball, but I’ve never met with a professional to work out a plan to get healthy again.

I’ve got a plan to alternate workouts between strength training and cardio training.  My initial goals are weight loss and better general overall health with an aim towards doing a lot more cycling this summer.  An added benefit is that as the weight comes off, my ankle and knees will become less painful when I walk, and I can enjoy that more.

This morning was my first strength training workout, 45 minutes of circuit training.  To say I’m exhausted is an understatement, but I’m happy and I feel like I’ve accomplished something  early on a Monday morning!

3 thoughts on “My first workout in 60 years

  1. GOOD FOR YOU, my friend! Just out of curiosity, do you listen to “workout” music when doing cardio? I have a “high energy” playlist I use when doing cardio. Ironically, several of them are “jodies,” which I swore I’d never listen to again after those grueling formation runs as a cadet.

    Like

  2. “…but it works for me.”

    And *that* is the key! I’ve loaded a few songs, only to take them off because they just don’t work out for, well, working out. Here are just a few from my workout list:

    It’s Five O’Clock Somewhere
    Don’t Fear the Reaper
    Conga
    Centerfield
    Big Stick (Tin Cup soundtrack)
    No One Lives Forever
    Lose Yourself
    The Auctioneer
    The Cup of Life
    Several Army running cadences (“Jodies”)

    Like

Leave a Reply

