My Experience with Planet Fitness

Planet Fitness

I’m seeing a fair amount of hate for Planet Fitness, and I don’t get it.  Although your mileage may vary, my experience with them has been overwhelmingly positive.

Back in the day, when I was much younger, slimmer, and active, there really were no exercise machines.  Pretty much, it was free weights, calesithenics, and running or biking.  (This was back in the 70′s, when dinosaurs roamed the earth)

One of the reasons I was intimidated by joining a gym was because of all the changes in exercise technology.  Weights, routines, gym culture, and more. But a PF opened just over 5 minutes from my house, and I decided it was now or never.  And, with my age and health….that’s a pretty accurate statement.

I have to say, I was made to feel welcome from the moment I stepped in the door.  The staff is friendly and professional yet casual.  The trainer  (who I had a free session with) was patient and thorough, and had me set up on a nice routine of strength and cardio workouts.  Each morning when I walk in, I get a friendly greeting, and each morning, after my workout, when I leave, a get a friendly “see you next time”.

Although I’ve only been at this a short time, I already see improvements.  I’m sleeping better, I feel better, and I’m paying MUCH more attention to what I eat.

Although a lot of folks may gripe about PF, and, for them, those gripes are valid.  For me, it’s a no brainer….it’s helping me make small improvements in my life, on a daily basis.  Thanks, Planet Fitness!

Leave a Reply

